Book review: Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman

y450-293

  • Title:  Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman
  • Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Publication date:  (October 18, 2016)
  • Genre:  Women’s fiction / general fiction
  • Pages:  320

ABOUT THE BOOK:   A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

BUY THE BOOK:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   HarperCollins 

6a0120a73fd4ec970b019aff273dfb970d-800wiMEET THE AUTHOR:   Zoe Fishman is the critically acclaimed author of the upcoming Inheriting Edith, (Morrow, November ’16), Driving Lessons (Morrow, April ’14), Saving Ruth(Morrow, May ’12) and Balancing Acts (Harper, March ’10). Her books have been translated into German, Italian, Dutch and Polish. She’s the recipient of myriad awards, including Target’s Breakout and Emerging Author Picks, a NY Post Pick, a Mom’s Choice Award and a Barnes & Noble Hot Read.

Interviews and profiles of her have been featured on NBC’s “Atlanta & Co.” and FGTV, as well as in Publisher’s Weekly, Mobile Bay Magazine, The Atlanta Jewish Times and The Huffington Post. Her articles have been published in Time Out and on FoxNews.com, among others.

Zoe worked in the New York publishing industry for thirteen years in the editorial department of Random House, the rights department of Simon & Schuster and later, as an agent for two boutique literary firms before moving to Atlanta in August of 2011 with her husband. Now the mom of two little boys, she’s working on her next novel and teaching writing at The Callanwolde Fine Arts Center.

Connect with the author:   Website   Twitter   Facebook

REVIEW:

“Hey, if you were going on a road trip with two old ladies and a two-year-old, what would would you bring?”   –  “Valium” Sam answered.

Maggie and Edith don’t exactly hit it off.  They are both unexpectedly thrown together when Edith’s daughter dies and leaves her Sag Harbour home to her former friend and housecleaner.  Throw in a feisty, Jewish girlfriend Esther (Edith’s) who doesn’t hesitate to “tell it like it is” (she’s my favourite character) and we see a few fireworks.

An engaging novel that shows that we don’t always have the answers, heck, we don’t always have the right questions but somehow we fumble through life and can feel pretty good about what we’ve accomplished.  The dialogue was candid and refreshing and I really enjoyed the repartee between Edith and Esther.  I really didn’t get what was happening between Maggie and Sam, the signals were “all over the place” and didn’t feel there was enough development in this part of the story.

A light read despite the fact that the overall theme was about how to deal with an Alzheimer’s patient in a dignified manner.

Considerable strong language was liberally used throughout the story as well as mature themes that may not appeal to some Christian readers.

 
Sunday, October 16th: #redhead.with.book
Tuesday, October 18th: Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Thursday, October 20th: BookNAround
Monday, October 24th: Reading is My Super Power
Tuesday, October 25th: The Book Bag
Tuesday, November 1st: A Bookish Way of Life
Wednesday, November 2nd: bookchickdi
Thursday, November 3rd: Lesa’s Book Critiques
Friday, November 4th: Books and Bindings
Monday, November 7th: Broken Teepee
Tuesday, November 8th: I’d Rather Be At The Beach
Wednesday, November 9th: she treads softly
Thursday, November 10th: A Chick Who Reads
Thursday, November 17th: Tina Says…
Friday, November 18th: Art @ Home
Tuesday, November 22nd: Kahakai Kitchen
Monday, November 28th: Becklist
Wednesday, November 30th: 5 Minutes For Books
Thursday, December 1st: Readaholic Zone

e7cd1c2b-eacf-415e-9a49-6b0d7dcee172

2 thoughts on “Book review: Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman

  1. I love candid dialogue because I don’t think people are candid enough in real life, so I end up just imagining what life would be like if people could be a bit more honest with each other? I’m not talking brutally honest, though, since that can be pretty hurtful. But honesty in general seems to make life better…at least in the books I read. 😉

    Thanks for being on this tour!

Leave a Reply